Playground of the God

20120401-140834.jpg
Playground of the God

How can such brightness be rendered in a picture? Please, someone help me understand how it is that white can be so blinding. Am I the only one who gets a slight headache looking at this? There   were some ominous looking clouds over the ocean this morning, leaving the sea gray and angry. I think it is their dark contrast that makes the star so painful. Or maybe it was working Bingo last night for the kids’ swim team that makes me feel like someone stuck a trident in my eye.

I added this starburst to Neptune’s trident with an app called LensFlare. One can tone down the brightness, and I thought I did, but I’m not sure it was enough. Perhaps looking at the original will help:

20120401-143517.jpg

It was an HDR shot, and apparently I added blinding brightness to just moderate vision-impairing brightness. That’s what I get for doing all viewing and editing on a computer the size of a card deck. If you would care to learn more about this larger-than-life sculpture of Neptune, please click here.

2 thoughts on “Playground of the God”

  1. Why does one of the shots have lens flare and the other not? Does the app add that as an effect?

    HDR process should reduce highlight brightness, but if there is no detail in the bright area to bring up, it will stay white. Some HDR photos are made with four or more exposures, covering a greater range of exposure changes than -1 ev to +1 ev. A -3 ev exposure might have found some greys in the bright area.

Leave a Reply

